Profile of the Department

The Department of History has been in existence right from the inception of the College. Earlier it was a composite Department in union with Economics and Politics with Sri G. Srirama Murthy garu as Head of the Department in 1949. In 1958 Economics was delinked and Sri M Jagannadha Rao became the Head of the History Department. Sri M. Srinivasachari and Sri Govindachari were the faculty members. Sri G. Ramachandra Rao joined the faculty in 1969. All the members of the Department were reputed for their amenities and scholarliness and it is not an exaggeration to say that their great contribution is the main spring of the successes of the College. Having been impressed with the exceptional excellence of Sri G. Ramachandra Rao, the then Chief Minister of A.P Sri N. T Rama Rao officially appointed him as special PRO in his Government. Sri G. David Samuel Prasad joined the Department in 1973 and became the Head of the Department in 1993.

Mrs. T. Malleswari, Mr. D. Henry Edward, Mr. M. Suseela Rao, Mr. S. Soma Sekhar served the Department. Mrs. T. Malleswari and Mr. M. Suseela Rao was/got selected by APPSC as Degree College lecturers in 1990. Mr. D. Henry Edward was absorbed in 1992, and became the Head of the Department of History in 2004 and served the Department for a period of 11 years i.e. upto March 2015. After the death/demise of D. Henry Edward, Mr. S.Soma Sekhar Charged Head of the Department of History in March 2015. In 2018 we introduced a New Course Group Combination of (HGT) History, Geography and Tourism, Now the Tourism Subject Collaborated with the Dept. of History. The Department of History changed the name of Department of History & Tourism in 2018… Click Here for more information.

  S.NO Name of the Document View
1 Academic Activities 2022-2023 Click here
2 Academic Activities 2021-2022 Click here
3 Academic Activities 2020-2021 Click here
4 Academic Activities 2019-2020 Click here
5 Academic Activities 2018-2019 Click here

Quick Links