Profile of the Department



Sri D.Veerayya was the first lecturer, head and layed solid foundation to the department of Telugu and he retired in 1959. Sri K.S.Somayajulu worked for long time the head of the department of Oriental Languagges ie. Telugu, Sanskrit, and Hindi.Sri Vempati Krishnamurthy worked as lecturer from 1955 to 1982, and he was the man who brought name and fame to the department.He was a great scholar in Sanskrit, Telugu, and English Literatures.He was hailed by one and all as walking encyclopedia of literature. Sri k. Hari worked as lecturer in the department from 1956 to 1961. He did his research on saiva literature and was awarded Ph. D. Sri K. Venkatacharyulu worked 36 years as lecturer in the department i.e. From 1959 to 1995. He is the only man who served the department for such longer duration. Sri Attili Gopala krishnamacharyulu worked in the department as lecturer from 1966 to 1983. Scholars in a meeting conferred upon him the title “VAGMAYA VARASI.” Sri S.S.Chintamani Sastry worked in the department from 1974 to 1993. Dr. Aripirala Narayana Rao joined as lecturer in the department in 1981. He received Best Teacher Award from the Govt. of A.P. in 1998. He acted as the director to the National Seminar “Telugu Velugu” in our college sponsored by U.G.C. in 1985. He was worked as Reader & Head of the department from 1995 to 2007. Sri N. Govinda Rajan joined in the department as lecturer in 1980. He worked as N.S.S. Programme Officer for six years and organized many camps. He was appointed as Mandal Resource Person (M.R.P.) in Janmabhumi Programme in 2000. He was on the Execuitive Committee of the A.C.T.A., A.P. during 1985-1999.

  • No. of library books : 274
  • One Computer with Internet facility.

Quick Links